Time flies when you’re having fun…

A lot of my spare time in the past year has been taken up by my new sport/hobby. Roller derby. Yep, that crazy skating-contact sport that was in the film Whip It (although it’s not really like that, I’ve learnt). I have training 3 times a week – Tuesday, Wednesday and Saturday with varying things happening at them. We’ve just come back from the ‘off season’ and everyone has realised that we’re not as fit as we were before we stopped regular training. The off season was great and I really enjoyed it but now it’s back to drills and scrims and feeling like my legs want to give up. (I started a blog to document my experiences here)

Work has been going okay. I failed an exam that everyone else in my intern cohort passed so I was pretty bummed about that for awhile but I had roller derby to help me through it (hitting people is always a good way to relieve anger…) and the skaters on my team are also lovely when that kind of thing happens. I got an intern who I’m sort of mentoring but is technically assigned to a different sub-team within our general team so some of our work doesn’t cross over and she has to get work from her manager and not me. But it’s all been going fine, so far. I’ve been given more responsibility and projects and it’s a busy time right now so I’m not feeling too bored or stuck.

Leave a Reply

